RSD 2023 Hüsker Dü – Tonite Longhorn 2LP


In stock



Band: Hüsker Dü
Release: Tonite Longhorn 2LP
Release Date: 22 April 2023
Label: Reflex Records

A 2xLP set of rare, early Hüsker Dü live recordings, featuring original flyers and artwork. Drawn from the historical Hüsker Dü recording archives compiled by Terry Katzman, this double disc live set is an essential companion piece to the band’s Savage Young Du Box Set. While the SYD release principally featured studio demos, the 28 tracks presented here are the aural and enchanting equivalent of a time machine that vividly thrusts the listener straight back to Husker Du’s embryonic unsheathing on stage.

Side A dates to July 1979. Side B gives us a full year’s evolution to July 1980, while Sides C and D land the listener in September 1980. Perhaps 120 people in total saw these three Longhorn performances. Until now, a handful at most have heard the playbacks. So, rare and fresh, it’s all here: the songs, the driven performances, the small club intimacy of being in front of select friends, fans, and peers, with one fair shot at getting it right. These four sides compellingly document that you can’t doubt that they did.


Side A – July 6. 1979 20:56

1. Insects Rule The World
2. I’m Not Interested
3. Sex Dolls
4. Can’t See You Anymore
5. Sexual Economics
6. Do You Remember?
7. Nuclear Nightmare

Side B – July 16 1980 Tiger Night 22:17

1. All Tensed Up
2. Strange Week
3. Don’t Try To Call
4. Industrial Grocery Store
5. Do The Bee
6. Do You Remember?
7. Ode To Bode
8. Don’t Have A Life

Side C – Sept 25 1980 Homerock 20:40

1. All I’ve Got To Lose
2. Don’t Try It
3. Writer’s Cramp
4. Gilligan’s Island
5. What Went Wrong?
6. Uncle Ron
7. MTC
8. Drug Party

Side D – Sept 25, 1980 Homerock 22:15

1. Chinese Rock
2. Termination
3. Call On Me
4. Gravity
5. Statues